Buying a new bed

Our bed is now 10 years old and we’re thinking about replacing it. 10 years ago I spent CHF 800 on the mattress at Jysk and around CHF 500 for the wooden bed. So nothing fancy.

Now with way more income and the fact that we’ll spend probably around 1/3 of our entire life in a bed: what’s a good budget for a 180x200/180x210 bed?

Is something like this good enough or would you spend way more, for example a Carpe Diem bed from Sweden for 8k?

Already? Maybe you should think about something that is expected to stay for 30-40 years?

Well it wasn’t that expensive and I bought it when I was 21 years old. We want to upgrade from 160x200 to 180x200/210 and from normal bed to boxspring.

So yeah, this one should last longer.

My guess is that a high quality bed made by some local Swiss artisans/small company shouldn’t cost more than 3-4k. I have some little experience.

1 Like

I’ve bought mine in 2018 for around CHF 6’000.- in order for it to last 20/30 years :slight_smile: (160x200cm) aka “Queen Size”. What is worth to spent time and money is the mastress! You should be able to find something between 4’000 - 10’000 CHF.

1 Like

That’s high quality.
I will expect to spend less than 2000chf for a queen bed mattresses included.

Habitat got a shop in Zurich.

2 Likes

Ikea mattresses are still fantastic, and probably best value for money overall.
Just pick the 1st or 2nd most expensive one (of the type you prefer). :slight_smile:

Edit: Ah now I see you want the boxspring sort.
In that case may be better somwhere else indeed.

We bought our bed at Schlafwohl and I can recommend them. Good choice of products, good service.

You can either test beds and mattresses in store or take them home for a few nights. Which for me was a precious option, since you can’t buy a bed applying only theory. :slight_smile:

2 Likes