Budgeting software

Which software are you currently using to track your spending, investment ?

Personally, I’m using an excel sheet, but to calculate investment return with dividend reinvestment it’s a nightmare. I will try Quicken

Hey,
so far I use:
google spreadsheets (excel is probably better) for investments.
postfinance “e-cockpit” for spendings and another spreadsheet for household shared expenses or cash payments.

I might try GNUCash soon but the interface looks years behind Mint or Quicken.

Let us know if Quicken works well for you :slight_smile:

I use KMyMoney and a spreadsheet. Unfortunately the import of data does not work well in my version so I have to enter exchange rates and actual values by hand.

I have tried quicken, however you can’t link swiss bank account with it.

At some point, I wonder if it’s not better to spend time on more interesting stuff than computing the exact return/net worth.

I have been using Quicken for about 20 years for personal finance and budgeting. There is currently a bug with the 2016 version and budgets (specifically paychecks not showing up properly for everyone). Not everybody has the problem but i do and many others do as well. I am too entrenched to make a change. I also use Quickbooks for my business. For both you can import data from the bank into the software.

I think you all know that use YNAB if you’ve read the blog from the beginning.
Although I love to automate things, I really like the fact to enter each transaction manually when you pay, and see its direct effect on your planned budget.

Some call it a burden, for others it’s discipline that keep you aware of what you spend.

Cheers,
MP

PS: I sticked to the “Classic” version so far (vs. the new web one).

i tried the trial version of ynab. it looks cool, but i feel the functionality is basically that of any accounting software. only a little bit more modern, and all the motivation-relateed stuff is cool ofc.