After 40 years of financial ignorance, it is time to invest smart - but how?

Hello everyone

Happy to find this place and other people with DIY mentality, thanks to MP for setting up this nice forum as well.

I am a software engineer, 40+ years old, with wife and kid, born in Switzerland and live here as well. I heard Interviews mit Pete Adeney (MMM) and was hooked on the idea of early retirement (or the idea, that work is better - if you don’t have to do it for the money.)

I was never really interested in finance and investing, but my mind changed totally since heard about MMM beginning of this year and i really want to manage our financial situation now. My only experience in investing is in Cryptocurrencies so far (Cryptocurrencies) and i need to find other investment opportunities, that are simple and risk/profit ratio is ok.

I have a lot of investing questions, but i guess it is interesting to know something about our background and where we want to go.

• My wife loves her job and wants to continue working partime in the future
  • Goal is to get to 1million, that should then generate 40k/y in the future, so one part-time job is enough to sustain our family
  • We have no car, we rent an fairpriced appartment, i ride a bycycle to work and we work both part-time
  • For the sake of simplicity let’s assume the following numbers for our financial situation
    — Assumed total net worth 500k
    — 20% in 3rd pillar
    — 20% in Crypto
    — 60% on Sparkonto
  1. What are your suggestions for such a situation to get to a million?
  2. I need investment advice mainly to reduce the sparkonto and relocate cryptos and i am trying to find the right ETF’s (passive and automated reinvesting). What kind of ETF’s do you recommend and where to you manage them?
  3. It seems that ETF’s are high right now (profitable i mean), is it wise to buy them know? Or when is and when not to buy ETF’s?