Advice to your 25-year old self?

Hi dear wise Mustachians,

I am seeking wisdom as I am new to this fascinating world of acronyms of FI and ETFs.

About me: 25 year old woman working in tech, based in Ireland. I have 30K to invest, plus 15K in company stocks (tech). Additionally, 7% of my salary goes to a pension fund (that I won’t be able to access until retirement, but my employer matches the contribution so it’s a nice, tax-free 2x). I seek simplicity and intend to use ETFs as a long-term investment strategy.

My questions:
I’m afraid of having a diversification problem and over-indexing in tech stocks if I buy a standard all world ETF (VT/VTI) - is this a legitimate thought? Which alternative ETFs would you recommend that exclude tech?

I opened an account with DEGIRO to find out that several of the US ETFs are not available anymore, including VT. Given the current selection, which ETF would you recommend?

Alternatively, would it be worth it to open an account with another broker (thinking of IB) given my current volume? If so, which ETFs would you recommend?

Do I need to include bonds given that I already invest 7% of my salary in a non-volatile pension fund?

Is there any other advice that you would like to give to your 25 year old self?

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, and good on you for thinking along these lines at your age!

If this is the case, why are you looking at Degiro and not IB?

You are overindexing tech stocks because of your company stock package which is why I would consider selling those instead of trying to compensate on the open market :wink:

Of course you have great insider know how on how your company is doing so you might hold them. Or you won’t be able to sell for a while.

Just keep in mind you have an overexposure to your companies well being due to your employment status as well as your investment

I would also ditch Degiro and go with IB

2 Likes