A journey of a 1000 miles begins with a single step

Hello fellow mustachians,

I only discovered Mustachian Post recently, but read a lot of the blog posts already. It’s great to have someone blogging about his personal experiences while trying to reach FI in Switzerland.

I’m 36 years old, originally from the “Big Kanton” (for those of you who don’t know: that’s Germany), living in Basel since nearly two years now. Since I was a child, I had the frugal mentality. If I got some pocket money from my grandmother, I made sure to at least save 50% of the cash (even if it wasn’t that much).

I’ve been working in the IT area since more than 10 years (if you count job years), but have been doing IT since mid of the 90s (coax cables, administrating WIN NT machines, fixing problems for relatives). The good old days. Ok, maybe not…

Anyway, I’ve been living a frugal lifestyle for most of my life. When still in Germany, I had a decent salary for the region where I was living, but nothing special in fact.
When I received the job offer from Switzerland in 2017, I was shocked (positively) at first. You could make so much money, just for doing the same things I’ve been doing for years??

I think I’ve been telling people that I’m going to retire way before the official retirement age all my life. Read a lot of books about financial topics, and theoretically I already knew back in 2013 that investing in large passive index ETFs is the best option to invest. BUT, I’m a perfectionist, hence I always wanted to read more and more, waiting for the perfect time before investing my hard earned money. Stock markets had recovered quite well from 2008, so I was hesitant. Btw, I also knew back then that market timing doesn’t work, but still it’s hard to believe if you think you can influence all other things in your life…