2nd Pillar: Base and Top Up Plan - advice needed

Hi there,
I am an avid reader of this forum, and I need your collective thoughts on a quite unusual 2nd pillar my company has set up. I should mention this is my 4th company in CH but I have never seen such structure. I have been working in CH for circa 10 years, so the pension fund is steadily growing but we are far from talking millions.

From what I understand, the 2nd pillar includes two plans: a base and a top up plan.
Base Plan: insured salary up to a max salary of circa CHF 150k. Contributions are levied on the base salary only (i.e. 150k). No choice in asset allocation, guaranteed return as usual (different on the mandatory vs extra-mandatory part), and upon retirement, a choice between lump-sum and annuity payment. All good and vanilla Pillar 2, except that voluntary contribution are not possible.

Pros: very limited risks, choice upon retirement.
Cons: Insured salary is capped, and so will be the contributions, so the capital will inevitably be limited, essentially meaning the annuity will be capped, no voluntary contributions.

Top Up Plan: insured salary in excess of the base salary (anything above CHF150k). Contributions levied on this part of the salary, with no cap, with similar contributions than the base plan (employee and employer). Choice of asset allocation, albeit limited, with a free choice of equity allocation, from 0% to 75%. Upon retirement, lump sum payment only - no annuity possible. Voluntary contribution possible.

Pros:

• opportunity to invest in equities while reducing taxes by making voluntary contributions to the top up plan;
  • opportunity to increase my exposure to equities (i am in my mid 30’s so the time horizon would allow it)

Cons:

• no pension option