2nd pillar advice (VIAC) - strategy

Hello everyone.

Since the beginning of this year, I have been employed internationally, which means that I do not contribute to the 2nd pillar anymore after working in Swiss companies and contributing for about 30 years. In 11 years, I will be at the legal retirement age, and my goal now is to optimize the contributed amount in my 2nd pillar.

I moved my capital from my former employee’s swiss insurance account to the VIAC 2nd pillar account, but wondering now what strategy I should use (for the moment, I have the 60 with CS). I’ve seen that the global 100 is the recommended mustachian strategy for the 3a pillar; I wonder if it is the same for the 2nd pillar?

Unless things go bad, I do not plan to work again for a swiss-based company (and hence move my 2nd pillar capital again to the employer’s institution). That money is now sitting idle, and I want to maximize the amount I will get in 10-11 years from it.

I’m not an expert at all, and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks for reading me.

Hi Wismie,

I would recommand targetting a global allocation for all your (liquid) assets, including taxable, pillar 2 and 3a. Since pillar 2 allows to add some tax efficiency into the mix (depending on your taxable regime, which should be checked), @Dr.PI’s splitting the world topic might contain relevant approaches to the situation: Splitting the world