Two Doctors in CH, financial pants down, any comments welcome!

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been reading your posts for a while now (soooooo happy :smiley: to find this community!), and was wondering if you could look into our little story. Definitely not catastrophic but, well, we only discovered Mustachianism via MMM a few months ago.
I’ll try to be brief and hopefully not too much of a mess:

We are both 42 year-old non-Swiss physicians, although applying for CH passport as we speak, after having lived in CH for 16 years. My background is Greek, my husband’s is German, and we nowadays work part-time in Switzerland and live part time in Greece, so are already applying geoarbitrage in our own special way. We never actually meant to do this, haha, and thought it was just a stroke of luck.

Our actual income nowadays is FAR lower than it used to be, due to the VERY part-time nature of our work in Switzerland - we only work a few days every month and now have a combined income of around 75k CHF per year. We’ve always been relatively frugal (always had a low-cost rent and never possessed more than one rather economical car which we kept for years, very reasonable spending on clothes, children, fun etc).

The concept of working towards “Not HAVING to work for money" but “having enough to cover our basic needs while being free to do things that interest us and perhaps earning some money on the side” has been an absolute, amazing, and insane revelation for us. We had never ever heard or even conceived of the possibility of ER until a few months ago, so have made loads of changes (budgeting with EveryDollar {this has helped a LOT}, changed phone plans, health insurance, life insurance, kids’ activities and other recurring costs) and have markedly improved our saving ability in the process.