The mustachian company?

I didn’t find many references to that but maybe one of you has some insights:

What do you think is the most mustachian way to found a company with the following setting?

Currently I am fully employed so this is only a side business for me. I am a professional software developer. As a “hobby” I develop “Add Ons” for popular enterprise software. I am planning on putting them up for sale this year. For this, I need some kind of “vehicle” to a) limit risk and b) separate my personal income.

The way to go seems to be the swiss “GmbH” with all the red tape and costs involved. Bank account, Handelsregister, Notar etc. If I do everything by myself and not have someone do the paperwork, this should come out to 1500chf in total (maybe more, just a rough guess). Otherwise I will be looking at 2500+

Now a UK Ltd or Irish Ltd seem cheaper but way more hassle to set up. Since I am unfamiliar with the system in the UK I would probably have everything done by one of those full service companies. But I recon down the road it will cost me more due to complications with bank accounts, local tax offices, ongoing costs for the upkeep in the UK etc.

Any other ideas? I looked into freelancing but since my marginal tax rate is not great and I want to limit the risk of liabilities, I dont think this is for me.

3 Likes

Interesting hobby. Is it time consuming?
Anyway have a look at startups.ch. It might help you.

Well, I was also thinking about the same thing. One option I am looking into is Estonia. You can get the e-residency for a 100 EUR, and then you can do almost everything online including taxes. I think the minimal capital is 2500K euros, but you can postpone this and pay it after the company generates some revenue.

From the tax perspective, you have to choices you can payout a dividend which means the company first pays the corporate tax rate in Estonia and then you will be taxed with your marginal tax rate in Switzerland.