Sirob's FI Story

Hello Mustachians,

As mentioned last week in my introduction, here is my story so far.

For those that did not read my initial post, I am 40, an Indian national, on a C permit and living in Basel Stadt (and by extension, Switzerland) for the past 10 years. By profession, I am an IT project manager.

I live with my gf (Swiss) who has just started working. We plan to get married next year, start a family in 2020 and buy a detached house/apartment in Basel Land in mid-2022. I plan to reduce to 80% at work beginning of 2021 (and gf to 60% beginning of 2021) once we start a family. That will reduce our incomes.

I am currently saving around 52% of my net salary (post compulsory deductions and taxes). This equates to around 50 KCHF net savings a year.

I welcome any comments or suggestions to optimise my savings/portfolio and appreciate your time and effort in reading this.

As of 1st May, the current NW figures are as follows:

Current total NW: 646 KCHF

Indian assets: 426 KCHF (breakdown below)
Swiss assets: 220 KCHF (breakdown below)

I will get an inheritance of 100 KCHF from my parents, however, am not including the same in above numbers as they can change their mind.

Indian real estate:
Apartment 1 in India:
Market value: 148 KCHF, Cost price: 49.8 KCHF, Purchase Date: May 2007. No outstanding mortgage.

Apartment 2 in India:
Market value: 147 KCHF, Cost price: 108.3 KCHF, Purchase Date: Jan 2012. No outstanding mortgage.

My parents live in Apartment 1. I do not take any rent from them, but help them financially with their annual expenses.

Apartment 2 is a slight problem. My parents use it as a vacation home for 3 months in a year but the rest of the time, it is empty. We tried to get a tenant, but it is difficult to get someone to rent for 9 months of the year. So, it lies empty for 9 months in a year.

Indian mutual funds: