Professional trader vs stamp duty

Hy Mustachians!,

This is my first post, so I hope I don’t violate any FAQ. I found this forum thanks to Mr Rip, I’m reading but I can’t find an answer to my question which is:

if I quit and my income comes only from active trading am I considered a professional trader? And if I am a professional trader who trading with CT (or another Swiss Bank), do I also have to pay stamp duty on transactions in addition to income tax?

It is important for me to know this, because I’ll do about 1 trade a week and the stamp duty would be too expensive, I know I can choose IB but I prefer a Swiss solution.

Thanks everyone for the replies

This is a 100 000 CHF question that no one here can answer definitely.

Normally if you trade via a Swiss broker, you have to pay stamp duty. If they can be deducted as expenses is another excellent question that no one here can answer definitely.

That doesn’t sound very professional fwiw.

Thanks for the reply all, I worked in Switzerland from 2008 to 2015, then I returned to Italy where I managed my assets with investments and now I would like to return to Switzerland but for a trader it is impossible with the stamp duty to have a Swiss account. I should have accounts abroad but I am sorry to lose Swiss banking security

If returns on investments make up all or most of your income AND you trade frequently, it is pretty much a given that you will be classified as a professional investor.

The primary factor is whether returns make a the bulk of your income, but if you only place a few trades a year, the chance of being classified as a professional investor is lower.

With regards to stamp duties, all Swiss banks have to levy them, regardless of your status as an investor. The only way to not pay them is to use a foreign broker.