Mustachians, introduce yourselves!

Hello :slight_smile: New mustachian here…

2 Likes

Dear all,

Thanks for the forum and its high information content. I learned a lot here already and finally took the leap to register.

Some info:
-Chemical Engineer working in the Environmental Sector (Wastewater treatment, soon sales of chemicals used in the environmental sector)
-Have been living in France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, India and Bahrain, permit B holder in CH
-Newly wed with an Indian, no kids
-Combined gross income of about 117.6k, soon to change to 146k (change of job on my side, wife still in a rip-off, but mandatory for architects “Praktikum”.
-Starting a side business for import of textiles and Indian culture (dance/cooking class, import and sales of cashmere products at not rip-off prices) with my wife
-Currently injured rugby player

Networth:
-about 120k in IBKR, 50% VTI, 50% VXUS, where I invest the full leftover every month.
-about 38k in VIAC, fully invested
-now 38k in savings account, but includes provisions for 3a (1x) and health insurance (2x). I pay it yearly. Goal is to have it at 25k (already overshot a bit this year)

Goal, becoming FI in 5-7y.

This year has been busy with the wedding, integration of my wife into Swiss culture (language classes, new life etc.), but we are getting into a more routine path now. after my jobchange soon we would be at about 70% savings rate.

5 Likes

Congratulations and welcome to the community! You set yourself a very ambitious target. Are you counting on your import business blowing up or on very low expense needs during FIRE?

Best,

mmm

Thanks,

So I don’t count on anything, I just typed the numbers on networthify (after my soon to be jobchange) and this is what it gave me.

Basically the axis is:
-low overall living costs right now (between 35 and 40k, still figuring it out exactly)
-once wife passes from Praktikum to real job, savings rate will be blowing through the roof (not yet accounted)
-The side gig will be nice, but we don’t think it will be substantial. The good part is the products are wanted, and no need for much capital to do some sidemoney.
-And FIRE means for me getting independant at a low working rate. Thinking about a community bar with homebrewed beer open twice a week or something, and making educational stuff, so still some income which reduces the risks greatly.

2 Likes

Hi all, I am new to Mustachian Forum. I have been following the blog for a while so am delighted to be here and to have found this blog and the forum. I am forty something and want to find independent financial advice. I have been using YNAB for a while now. I really like it but am not 100% sure I am using it to its full potential. Anywho, delighted to be here and chat with all of you guys. :smiley:

4 Likes

Bonjour Nicolas, pourrions nous entrer en contact directement`? je fais un travail de recherche sur le frugalisme et je serais intéressée de vous parler? Mille merci d’avance
Corinne

1 Like

Hello Mustachians,

This my first post in this forum but I’ve been following the different topics for some time already.
I’m Portuguese in my mid-thirties and I’ve been living in Basel for the last 7 years. I’m married and I’ve two children’s, one boy with 3 months and an 2 year’s old girl.
I’ve always lived frugally and invested my savings since a young age. I always wanted to be financially free to take back control of my life but now with all the information out there on how to reach FIRE it has become much more clear to me how to achieve that life goal. Thank you all of you for all the great information in this forum and in all the blogs.

My current net worth is about 675k split as below:

Long term rental Portugal: 70k
Airbnb Portugal: 55k (100k mortgage)
House Switzerland: 145k (630k mortgage)
Crowdhouse: 100k
Pilar 2: 123k
Viac: 73k (mix shares, bonds & gold)
Degiro: 49k (IWDA & IUSN mostly)
Cash: 60k

I’ve invested mostly in real estate in last 10 years after losing about 60% of my investments in the stock market during the 2008 financial crisis. I will increase the portion of ETF’s in my portfolio to about 30% but will always have rental from real estate as primary source of income during FIRE.

My goal is to get to 1’000k net worth by 2024 to start a slow FIRE. I don’t want to stop working and I don’t want to leave Switzerland for now, I just want to work less hours, only do work that I enjoy and take more unpaid breaks to enjoy life with my family.

Cheers

9 Likes

Bem vindo :slight_smile: !
You are really on a good track. Congratulations.

1 Like

Bem vindo!
É sempre bom ver mais portugueses por aqui :slight_smile:

2 Likes

8 posts were split to a new topic: Crowdhouse review

Hello there,

I’m an 18 y/o Dominican currently doing an apprenticeship in IT and living near Lausanne.

I’ve been following this forum for a few months now and just recently started to discover this world of FIRE in wich my mother and I are trying to achieve.

I’ve always wanted to know about stocks/trading and I finally decided to learn about personal finance after reading the book Rich Dad Poor Dad and now The 4-Hour Workweek really got me invested into learning how to preserve my time and not sell it for money.

One of my goals is to have time for my children, I see so many parents that are not there for their children and I see the effects that this has on both sides. I want to be there for my kids when that time comes.

Anyways, I’m excited to start this journey and learn through what the people are saying on this forum.

8 Likes

Hi Forum,

Frank here:

  • IT professional
  • Just moved to Zurich
  • Net worth: CHF150k
  • Investments: 100% in VT
  • Salary: CHF155k/y
  • Target saving rate: 85%

Looking forward to learn more and more :smiley:
Frank

8 Likes

hi everyone and thanks to MP for his blog & forum :slight_smile:

Babyjag here:

  • married, 2 kids, double income, full time workers, in our fourties
  • moved to Switzerland 11 years ago
  • Net worth: CHF 1.5 M
  • Investments: 40% real-estate (including rental investment. Evaluated at buying value, not current market value), 40% bonds (2nd & 3rd pillars), 15% cash, 5% stocks (ETF’s, shares, VIAC)
  • current saving rate: 40% on net income (ie after income tax, and after 2nd pilar deductions)

currently thinking about rebalancing portfolio in order to accelerate to FI target

8 Likes

What’s your FI target in CH?

Around 5 M CHF when we both want to retire, 3 M CHF if only one of us wants to retire. Wish me good luck :rofl:

3 Likes

Hello guys !

Very glad to have found this community since I am very mustachian newbie.

  • Late 30’s Chilean native but raised in Switzerland.
  • Currently living in the countryside of canton de vaud with girlfriend and 2 young children.
  • Homeowner with some rental properties in Switzerland and Latin America.
  • No stocks at the moment and we save around 40% of our income.

Since I am a very new mustachian, I am really happy to learn from all of you guys.

4 Likes

Dear Mustachians

First of all thank you for the very informative forum, I have found a lot of good and useful information here. So far I have been a silent fellow reader and would like to take the opportunity to introduce myself today.

I am 46 years old, born in Italy, grew up in Germany. Since 2002 I live and work work in Switzerland. Currently I live in the Winterthur area where I work as an IT project manager. I live with my partner in a rented apartment we have no children.
I heard about the FIRE concept a few years ago, since then I’ve been a fan and try to align my lifestyle with these principles. In 2018, I took a closer look to my financial situation and created an ETF portfolio. My medium-term goal is to build up a wealth that makes me more independent, so that I no longer have to take on every job, for example. Another goal would be to be able to get out of the job as early as possible before regular retirement. This goal would have been achieved for me with a net worth of approx. 1,500k.

My financial situation

Net worth approx. 470k

  • Cash: 75k
  • Pilar 2: 200k
  • Pilar 3: 22k (VIAC 60)

ETFs: 150k

  • MSCI World (53%)
  • MSCI Emerging Markets (22%)
  • SPI (25%)

P2P: 22k

  • Bondora
  • Mintos
  • Peerberry
  • EstateGuru
  • Robocash

Income: 100k (80% workload due to burnout a few years ago)
Current savings rate: approx. 30%

Looking forward to lots of learnings and an exciting journey with all of you!

Cheers

3 Likes

Is the 100K income the combined one (including your partner)? Independently of that, the 30% can be improved (since you have no kids and live in Winterthur). How much is the rent of the apartment?

Hi Zerte

Thanks for getting back to me. 100k is my income, my partner’s income is arround 65k (so cobined arround 165k).
In terms of fire, I’m currently more focused on my own finances. My partner is showing increasing interest in the FIRE concept, but there is still an opinion that it is a certain risk to make to much sacrifies for the future … do you know that? how do you convey that to your partners?

Rent is 2800 p.m. (3.5 Rooms, 100 sm, parking incl.)…I think there is some potential for improvement with the living costs…unfortunately apartment prices in Winterthur are almost like in ZH City this days ;-(

Cheers

1 Like

85%? That’s incredibly ambitious. 155k net or gross? Anyway, thanks for sharing and good luck!

With a safe withdrawal rate of 3.6-4.8% that’s 15’000-20’000 CHF of monthly expenses. Even for 2 people that’s quite a lot. If I may ask, what do you think will be the biggest chunk of your spending once you retire?

Welcome and thanks for sharing! May I ask, is that the salary, taxable income or net income? I thought that a 100% FTE project manager would get a salary of 150-180k. But maybe that only applies to UBS / CS.

1 Like
By reading and partipating to this forum, you confirm you have read and agree with the disclaimer presented on http://www.mustachianpost.com/
En lisant et participant à ce forum, vous confirmez avoir lu et être d'accord avec l'avis de dégagement de responsabilité présenté sur http://www.mustachianpost.com/fr/