Investing in VT and leaving Switzerland in the future

Hi guys!
I have been living in Switzerland for a few years (I am Italian) and at some point in the next 2-3 years I might come back to Italy. In these years I have been investing in ETFs and most specifically into VT / VTI / VOO.

I am still investing, primarily in VT, but I think I need to start thinking about the future and what that means in case I move back to Italy. Considering that as an Italian resident I wouldn’t be able to use VT anymore, what’s my best strategy and what could I do with my ETFs at that point? Should I start investing now in the EU equivalent of VT?

2 Likes

I would keep VT, sell everything when going to Italy and then buy VWRL. Transaction costs are close to zero, and the risk that stocks will rise by 20% in this short amount of time as well. Plus I would look out for changing the broker from IB to an Italian one, since it might be already compliant with local tax forms, and transferring funds is often easier than transferring shares.

thanks for the answer. Why do you think this would be better? Don’t I lose money selling off my ownership in VT and entering into VRWL when I move back?

You won’t be able to buy VT anymore as Italian resident (unless you qualify or EU fixes the regulations), however, as far as I know, EU residents can still hold VT they bought before. This means it would be possible to keep VT and switch to buying VWRL when moving to Italy. Whether this makes sense depends on taxing details in Italy (incl. US estate tax treaty).

If it’s not clear yet whether you’ll move back to Italy, I’d probably buy VWRL (or the cheaper combination VEVE+VFEM) from now on but keep the VT you already have. If/when you move, you can still decide whether to swap the VT shares as well or keep holding them.

You should also check whether distributing or accumulating ETFs are better tax-wise in Italy, if there is a difference (there is no difference in Switzerland).

1 Like