EUR to CHF conversion

Dear all

I have opened a Zak account (thanks @_MP for the great tutorial) and I would like to move some euro from abroad in it.
I have found this thread in the forum and I was wondering if Revolut is still the best option here.

Does anyone can kindly give me an advice?

Thanks to everyone in advance!

Best
Don

1 Like

I have no firsthand experience but would think of TransferWise and maybe https://exchangemarket.ch/.

Also, there’s an article on the blog of The Poor Swiss:

1 Like

Thank you @Neville.
I looked into and yes TransferWise looks good however I am also wondering which fees Zak applies here, I probably miss this piece of information, do you know it?

Cheers
Don

Not yet. :wink:

I’ve only just started looking into this question. I haven’t even gotten around to reading the blog post above. Actually, thanks for opening this thread, let’s see if others in the forum know more.

1 Like

Depends on time and amount. If under the free limit of revolut (1250 CHF) and during the week, this will be the best you can get.

Zak will apply usual fees (i.e. none) for an incoming Swiss domestic transfer, since that is what Transferwise will use to pay out the converted funds to your account.

true, on low amounts, Revolut is impossible to beat.

Apologies, I have not make myself clear. I meant transfer EUR directly into Zak from abroad (via SEPA).
I would like to understand fees/rate applied.

I made a comparison recently, including all fees and exchange rates for transfering from CHF -> EUR. I assume it’s about the same in reverse. I did effectively transfer the money and compared the conversion rates with XE at the respective date and time. So this took into account the fees and calculated the percentage after.

In first place came in Revolut. In second place was Transferwise and in third my regular bank account.

ok thank you @genti. I assume it still depends on how much you transfer, for getting Revolut first.