Consequences of prolonged medical leave

Hello good people,

Need to ask some of you for advice…

Has anyone ever dealt with - or knows first-hand the dynamics of - managing insurance, employer, income, eventually even RAV, etc. when medical issues would cause prolonged absence from the workforce?

You can PM me if sensitive of course, thank you in advance!

Hi Lowyield,

I work in the field so i might help you. Can you please share some details of your situation?

• Work-Contract
  • What type of medical issues
  • Are you working right now? If not, since when?
  • Salaryrange
  • etc.

I’m also wondering about this, thanks for asking.

It is a huge topic, do you have any specific questions ? (genuinely trying to be helpful)

A few, thanks for pitching in :slight_smile:

I’ll start with the privacy aspect which is perhaps the one where I have most doubts:
What information and how much information about your medical condition is shared?
With the employer, for example. But also with your health insurance, the employer allowance insurance, does the RAV have details if you get laid off, etc.

How is an employee protected against discrimination, in case the information is not private (mostly applies vs. the employer, I guess)?

1 Like

Maybe it’s time to ask your legal insurance these questions?

That’s a fair observation @Dr.PI, although prevention is better than the cure, I’m not sure if they deal in hypotheticals?

EDIT: meaning, I am not sure where to find this information but I hope it doesn’t require a lawyer, which would rather be the case if discrimination already occurred.