Bootcamp, is it worth it?

Hi :slightly_smiling_face:,

I’m 33 and I’ve been in Switzerland for about 3 years. It started as an aventure (I took an unpaid leave) and now I’m not sure about what to do next.

As most of you, I love the financial markets. Other than a diversified portfolio I do some trading and sell some (covered & cash secured) options. On the other side, I work in the watchmaking industry and I don’t like it.

Once some of you work in tech, I would like to ask for help/opinion. I’ve no degree but I love coding. What do you think of bootcamps? Do you know if these formations have acceptance in Siwtzerland? Are they worth the investment?

Thank you!

check this post: https://techbeacon.com/app-dev-testing/bootcamps-wont-make-you-coder-heres-what-will

2 Likes

Disclaimer: I am a software engineer.

I don’t support and/or recommend bootcamps.

Main reason is that I don’t think you can become a proper developer in 3 months or so. They are scamming you by selling you hope. It’s like saying someone can become a mechanical engineer by taking an intensive CAD course and learning how to read mechanical blue prints.

Also in Switzerland you would be competing with all the people that “just” did an “Applikationsentwickler” appreticeship but no further college degree.

If you really want to learn it you don’t need to spend money on an expensive bootcamp. There are so many free good classes and courses available online.

Well now you hurt my feelings XD.

On that note I am somewhat involved in training “Applikationsentwicker” and at least in my canton there seem to be less and less of them (there were about 10 last year). Apparently “Mediamatiker” is the cool job now.

I am also kinda sceptical about those “Bootcamps” but I may be biased. I certanly know pepole that could have learned to code in 6 months but they would also not have needed a bootcamp for it. I also know pepole that struggled with the basics after 4 years of appreticeship.